Like buses, scamming emails turn up in threes.
Had a couple of concerned people asking about emails they’d received. These emails were similar to this somewhat edited version:
________________________________________
Dear Someone Important,
We are a professional internet consultant organization in Asia, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company. On Date , we received an application formally, one company named “Tianle Holdings Ltd” applied for the brand keyword “scam_me” and following domain names:
scam_me.sg
scam_me.me
scam_me.com.sa
scam_me.pk
scam_me.com.kz
scam_me.bh
scam_me.com.mo
with our organization.
During our preliminary investigation, we found that these domain names’ keyword is identical with your trademark. I wonder whether you consigned Tianle Holdings to register these domain names with us? Or is Tianle Holdings your business partner or distributor in Asia?
Currently, we have already postponed this application of this company temporarily. Therefore please let the relevant person make a confirmation with me by telephone or email ASAP.
Best Regards,
Amy Wen
Web: http://www.wtl.hk.cn
Tel: +00852_9566_0103
+00852_9566_0205
Fax: +00852_3019_7872
Email: amy@west-idc.org
amy@sc-domain.org
________________________________________
Smelt like a scam to me.
Two seconds of searching dug up a number of angry web sites confirming this was indeed a scam.
Fraudwatchers have the sensible response from the Oz government but a more useful block list has been created by the folks of Firetrust. Chris has put together all the email domains these particular scammers are using.
I copied the list and added it in to our black list of bad domains and told the folks not to worry about these emails any more.
If you get one of these emails, add the domain it was sent from to your blocked black list and delete the email. It’s a scam to get your money.
i also recieved this email too!
Thank you for the sharing of this. I really make same sense to me, such a scam.